Race and Cultural Awareness Framework


The UKIED Race and Cultural Awareness Charter Mark focuses specifically on the following issues:

  • Effective delivery of services to diverse services users/customers
  • Employment relations
  • Unconscious Bias
  • Recruiting and leading diverse teams
  • Intercultural competence and cultural awareness
  • Development of race and culturally aware organisational policies, strategies and governance procedures
  • Product development
  • Stakeholder engagement

The Race and Cultural Awareness (RCA) Charter Mark standard uses an
Evidence based approach that is obtained from internal and external stakeholders.

To achieve the UKIED RCA charter mark standard involves four simple stages:

Stage 1

Involves completing a UKIED RCA Application Agreement.

Stage 2

Telephone or face to face needs analysis meeting.

Stage 3

Pre-Assessment Audit visit and Next Steps Action Planning (NSAP)

Stage 4 

Assessment and Accreditation Visit